Conference Closing - (08:30-13:00) 

Chair/Moderator: Conference Chairs


Summary of outcomes and key messages

  • From the three Conference Themes and Dome Plenaries
  • From the Symposium for Early to Mid-Career Researchers (EMCRs)


Looking forward – climate science priorities, needs and challenges

  • Jim Skea (IPCC Chair) - Remotely (Title to be confirmed)
  • Guy Brasseur (Former WCRP Chair): Future of Climate Science
  • (TBD): Vision from the Early to Mid-Career Researchers's Symposium

Panel discussion: What next, where from here?
Moderator: Diana Ürge-Vorsatz (IPCC Vice Chair)

  • Robert Vautard (IPCC co-chair Working Group 1) - Remotely
  • Bart van den Hurk (IPCC co-chair Working Group 2) - Remotely
  • Kristie Ebi (Future Earth)
  • Amanda Maycock (WCRP/SPARC co-chair)

11:00-12:00 - Adoption of Conference Statement (Kigali declaration)

12:00-13:00 - Conference Closing

  • Closing messages from hosts, co-sponsors and others
    • WCRP Co-sponsors
      • Abdulla Al Mandous (President of WMO) - Remotely
      • Peter Gluckman (President of the International Science Council) – Remotely
      • Yutaka Michida (Chair of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission) Remotely
    • Rwanda Hosts
  • Closing from Conference Co-Chairs
    • Presentation of Awards
    • Thanks
    • Farewell and Conference formally closes

 For the .pdf of the full program (as of 22 September 2023), click here



To receive information concerning the WCRP OSC 2023, please fill in the form available here, or contact us at